CN8 leads all comers in Emmy nods
CN8 can be called CN38, as in a station-leading 38 Mid-Atlantic Emmy Award nominations.


Courier times

CN8 can be called CN38, as in a station-leading 38 Mid-Atlantic Emmy Award nominations. WTXF followed with 32 nods, and WCAU and NJN had 25. As for the rest of the local stations, WPHL had 20, KYW had 17, Comcast SportsNet had 13, WHYY had six, and WPSG had four. Once again it was nothing for Channel 6, as top-rated WPVI did not participate in the Emmys.

According to a staffer at a competing station, WPVI doesn't enter because it "doesn't want to lose in anything." However, by not having the dominant station in town involved, it takes a little something away from the awards. Another flaw in the system is that to be considered for an Emmy, one must send an audition tape with an entry fee. Thus, many possible nominees don't want to take the time and expense to enter.

Some of the local personalities who made the list included Denise Saunders and Ren Scott of KYW, Larry Mendte and Tracy Davidson of WCAU, Jeff Cole and Dave Schratwieser of WTXF, Tina Kim and Brad Sattin of WPHL, and Lou Tilley and Lynn Doyle of CN8. The awards take place Sept. 14.


Marcellus Alexander will be signing off as the vice president and general manager of KYW-3, but will continue to work for the Viacom Television Stations Group in another capacity to be announced shortly. Peter Dunn, most recently executive vice president of sales for the NBC Television Stations Division will replace Alexander.

This is just one of several management changes at Viacom, including the appointment of former ABC executive Dennis Swanson as chief operating officer and executive vice president. According to a station insider, the change will put everyone at Channel 3 on the hot seat, including news director Susan Schiller. Currently KYW is a distant third in the local news ratings.


For the ninth year in a row, WPHL will handle the local portion of the "Jerry Lewis Muscular Dystrophy Telethon" Labor Day weekend. This year's local lineup includes Mike Dardis, Steve MacLaughlin, Tracy Humphrey and Alison Harmelin of WB17 news. For the 37th year, Jerry Lewis headlines the national telethon. Some of this year's stars are Billy Crystal, Chicago, Patti LaBelle, Lisa Rinna and Larry King.


WOGL 98.1 FM general manager Sil Scaglione denied rumors that the oldies station was going to switch to "Jamming Oldies" with disco, Motown, 70's soul, and early 80's dance similar to the format 95.7 FM attempted a couple of years ago.  "We've enjoyed the biggest ratings in our station history, and are fifth (out of 30 stations) with adults 25-54," he said. 

Laura Nachman can be reached at

August 22, 2002