Channel Surfing
by Laura Nachman
Bucks County Courier Times
September 18, 2007


There may be room for both John Bolaris and Rob Guarino at Fox29, because according to industry sources, Fox29 will be adding news shows to its schedule within the next few months.  Sources say that Fox29 will add a 6 p.m. and/or 11 p.m. show during the week and a 6 p.m. show on the weekend.  (Other Fox affiliates around the country have added 11 p.m. shows.)  Fox already added weekday 5 p.m. and 11 a.m. newscasts to its 10 p.m. weeknight show this year.


Currently Guarino is the 5 p.m. and 10 p.m. meteorologist for Fox, but there is a chance that Bolaris, whose contract with WCBS in New York City was not renewed, will return to Philadelphia. 


Even though Bolaris’ old station, NBC10 has two weather vacancies (Amy Freeze, Doug Kammerer), sources say NBC10 doesn’t want him back.


Speaking of weather, former Channel 10 weatherman Herb Clarke was awarded the Board of Governors Award at the 25th Annual Mid-Atlantic Emmy Awards Saturday night.  In his acceptance speech, Clarke revealed he only worked for three stations in his 57-year career and was only fired once – from Channel 10 in 1997.  Guess it was a forced retirement.


Here are some of the other major winners:


Newscast – “Eyewitness News at 11 – Amish Shooting, CBS3

Morning Newscast – “Good Day Philadelphia,” Fox29

Anchor – News – Kerri Lee Halkett, Fox29

Anchor – Weather – Kathy Orr, CBS3

Anchor – Sports – Jason Bristol, WHP (Harrisburg)

Program Host/Moderator – Michele Lepe, PBS Kids Sprout

Reporter – General Assignment – Mike Strug, NBC10
Reporter – Specialty Assignment, Ben Simmoneau, WGAL-TV (Lancaster)
Reporter – Sports, Lance Crawford, Comcast SportsNet
Sports Analyst/Play-by-Play – Marc Zumoff, Comcast SportsNet
Writer – News – Larry Mendte


Mendte led all on-air talent with 13 Emmy wins.  Some of the other individual winners were John Atwater (Fox29), Jim Osman (CBS3), LuAnn Cahn (NBC10), Bruce Gordon (Fox29), Gerald Kolpan (Fox29), Jade McCarthy (NBC10), Scott Graham (CN8), Sean Murphy (CW57), and Natasha Brown (CW57).


The Mid-Atlantic Emmys are awarded for stations in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Delaware.