Channel Surfing
by Laura Nachman
Bucks County Courier Times
August 16, 2005


CBS3 leads Philadelphia stations with 45 Mid-Atlantic Emmy nominations, including a nod for “Eyewitness News at 11” for “Outstanding News Broadcast – Markets #38 & Larger.”  The other Philadelphia nominees in the category are “The WB17 News,” “CN8 News at 7,” “Delaware News Tonight” (WHYY-12), and “The Ten O’clock News” (Fox29).  The Mid-Atlantic Emmys are for television stations from Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Delaware.


On-air personalities from the station nominated are Larry Mendte, Alycia Lane, Garry Cobb, Kathy Orr, Paul Deanno, Jim Donovan, Tom Negovan (now anchoring in Chicago), Amy Caples (becoming a Temple University professor),  Tamsen Fadal (now a reporter in New York), sports anchor and reporter Steve Bucci, Bob Kelly, Stephanie Abrams, and Stephanie Stahl.


From NBC10, individual nominations went to LuAnn Cahn, Tracy Davidson, Aditi Roy, John Clark, Linda Swain, Amy Freeze, and Ted Greenberg.


From Fox29, individual nominations went to George Mallet, Bill Vargus, Bruce Gordon, Gerald Kolpan, and Tina Kim.


From CN8, individual nominations went to Suzanne Roberts, Lynn Doyle, Mary Cariaccioli, Paul Dillon, Barry Nolan, Lou Tilley, Nicole Fox, Laura Jones, and Greg Coy.


From Comcast SportsNet, a nomination went to Matt Yallof.


From WB17, Steve Highsmith was nominated.


Here are nominees from the Philadelphia market in some of the major individual categories:


Anchor/News – Larry Mendte – CBS3, Tracy Davidson- NBC10, Lauren Cohn – NBC10


Host/Talk Program – Raymond Brown, NJN, Lynn Doyle- CN8, and Kent Manahan- NJN


Host/Magazine and Specials – Linda Swain- NBC10, Paul Dillon- CN8, Suzanne Roberts- (Stage 3 Productions) CN8, Paul Deanno – UPN57, Barry Nolan- CN8


Anchor/Sports – Bill Vargus – Fox29, Steve Bucci – CBS3, Matt Yallof – CSN


Reporter/Hard News – Bruce Gordon – Fox29, Ted Greenberg – NBC10, Aditi Roy – NBC10,


Reporter/Informational – Tina Kim of Fox29 and Stephanie Stahl of CBS3


Weathercaster – Paul Deanno - CBS3, Kathy Orr - CBS3, Amy Freeze - NBC10 


*Annual Emmy story disclaimer – 6ABC does not participate in the Emmys.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony September 17. For a complete list of nominations, go to