On the Air
by Laura Nachman
Bucks County Courier Times
April 14, 2006


Unheralded number ten seed Ray Didinger upset number five seed Anthony Gargano to become the Radio Bracket Champion in our “Sports Broadcasters’ Field of 64.”  Didinger, who is only a part-time host on WIP 610-AM, beat Jody McDonald of Sports Talk 950, and WIP fulltimers Angelo Cataldi and Glen Macnow to take the crown. Maybe WIP management should add him to the list of contenders for that mid-day vacancy. 


In our other brackets, Harry Kalas (1) won the Announcer bracket over Merrill Reese (2), Michael Barkann (1) won the Philly TV bracket over Gary Papa (2), and Joe Buck (1) won the National bracket over Bob Costas (11).


Thanks to everyone who participated.


If you missed Tuesday’s feature about former Phillie Darren Daulton on HBO’s “Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel,” try to catch it on the replay tomorrow at 11 a.m.   It’s worth it just to see the expression on reporter Mary Carillo’s face, when Daulton explains some of his controversial new theories about life. 


Come to think of it, the well-rounded Carillo could do well in Meredith Vieira’s job on “The View.”


Who would’ve thought when Daulton and John Kruk were on “Macho Row,” that it would be Kruk who would turn out to be the ESPN announcer.


How Do You Show a “Poker Face” on the Radio?

Chuck Darrow hosts “The Poker Show” on Sports Talk 950 Saturdays from 5:30 p.m. – 7 p.m. Don Tollefson’s “lovefest” moves to Saturday morning at 10 a.m.


Donovan McNabb will be the subject of the NFL Network series “In Their Words” May 9.


Here is another announcing category I forgot to list last week for the upcoming Sports Emmys:


Outstanding Sports Personality – Sports Event Analyst
Joe Morgan – ESPN
John Madden – NBC
Johnny Miller – NBC
Tim McCarver – FOX
Troy Aikman – FOX


I hate to give it to an ex-Cowboy, but Aikman deserves it.


With the NFL schedule released last week, the network announcing roles for the upcoming season are almost complete, but there are still a couple of vacancies – sideline reporter for NBC’s “Sunday Night Football” and host for Fox NFL Sunday.