Channel Surfing
by Laura Nachman
Bucks County Courier Times
January 16, 2007


When “The Morning Show with Mike & Juliet” at 9 a.m. and the 5 p.m. news joins the Fox29 lineup January 22, there will be some changes to the weekday schedule.


The major changes are that longtime 5 p.m. occupant, “Judge Judy” moves to 4 p.m. and “Seinfeld” reruns will replace the just-canceled “Geraldo at Large” at 11 p.m.


The Fox29 early evening lineup remains the same with “The Simpsons” at 6 p.m., “Malcolm in the Middle” at 6:30 p.m., “The Simpsons” at 7 p.m., and “Seinfeld” at 7:30 p.m.


Former “Good Day Philadelphia” host Mike Jerrick is the “Mike” in “Mike & Juliet.”


Former CN8 weather anchor Robyn Stevens has been getting fill-in work on the CW57 “Wakeup News.”  Stevens also worked for WB17 and CBS3.


Though B101 just let go its morning co-host, Chris McCoy, the station came in first in the recent Arbitron ratings for listeners 12 and over with an 8.0 share of the audience. According to B101 general manager, Blaise Howard, morning show co-host Tiffany Hill will continue to host the show and there will not be a replacement for McCoy.  Newsman Bill Tafrow will continue with Hill on the morning show. The rest of the top ten is WDAS-FM, KYW-AM, WOGL-FM, WUSL-FM, WMMR-FM, WXTU-FM, WMGK, WPHT-AM, and WPHI-FM.


The sixth season premiere of “American Idol” happens tonight at 8 on Fox.  Judge Paula Abdul will be the subject of the upcoming reality show, “Hey Paula” on Bravo.   Former “Idol” Carrie Underwood performed “Islands in the Stream” with Kenny Rogers for the “Kennedy Center Honors’ tribute to Dolly Parton. Underwood’s song replaced Jessica Simpson’s botched version of “Nine to Five.”


Trivia:  Name the five “American Idols.” The answer appears at the bottom of the column.


John Mellencamp will premiere his new album “Freedom’s Road” tomorrow on Sirius satellite radio, channel 18 at 7 p.m.  His song, “This is Our Country,” has gotten tons of airplay as the official song of Chevrolet.



Season 1 – Kelly Clarkson (runner up – Bucks county’s Justin Guarini), Season 2 – Ruben Studdard (runner up – Clay Aiken), Season 3 – Fantasia Barrino (runner up – Diana DeGarmo), Season 4 – Carrie Underwood (runner up – Bo Bice), Season 5 – Taylor Hicks (runner up – Katharine McPhee).